I Almost Died This Week

I almost died this week

Well not really ‘almost died’ but I was screaming for someone to put me out of my misery from bellyaching.

I had gone to bed Sunday night without incident. My sleep didn’t last long once the severe stomach cramping started. All my moaning, movement, and crying even woke Joe. He’s soo sensitive with his comments…something along the lines of “Ya big faker; you gonna live?

Joe is accustomed to my normal stomach maladies like lactose intolerance, regular female stuff, and a generally sensitive stomach. But this was different!

I have never experienced such severe stomach cramping and diarrhea in my life. My mind was going wild. I had just been bragging about how healthy I have felt lately.

I have been working with several natural health practitioners including my chiropractor, Dr Durski to eliminate toxins from my diet and eliminate all pain and medications. I have done a great job of this and have never felt better. I feel so passionately about natural health that I have been helping spreading the word by volunteering to help Dr Durski when he gives seminars that suggest natural ways to health. I am a big fan of solutions that do not include dangerous drugs. I honestly feel that most people would be much healthier without all the medications. If they ate more raw food and added some supplements to be sure they have all the nutrients their body needs to function, they could likely live without pain meds and all the other crazy stuff that is prescribed.

I was in denial that I could be experiencing this kind of pain. I’m used to the normal monthly cramps, but that is generally lower on the stomach. When a normal cramp comes on, you just breathe deeply and position your body to relax that muscle. Piece o’ cake! But this was not the case. My stomach was so tender to the touch and it was higher up,  just under my ribs. I couldn’t do anything comfortably, including breathing, laying down, sitting, or even drinking water.

It all started when I went out to dinner with a few friends from High School. We have our 20 yr reunion coming up very soon and were excited to talk about it.  I decided to splurge and get a big plate of delicious food. I opted for the pork loin dinner with mashed potatoes, gravy, dressing, green peas, and a cup of lentil soup. This is not a normal meal for me, but decided to treat myself because I have been so good lately with eating only healthy foods.

From Sunday night till Tuesday morning my life was spent either on the couch groaning or in the bathroom. I kept trying to get up and snap out of it, but to no avail. I was too dizzy and nauseous to do anything. A few times I tried to look at my laptop and send an email or two. It just wasn’t working out. I couldn’t focus on the screen when my stomach was demanding my constant attention. I couldn’t even focus on the TV.

I was delirious trying to figure out what the hell was wrong with me. The only thing that has ever come close to causing this much pain was eating onions. I finally realized that it was a straight case of food poisoning. Now I know why we have high quality standards for food handling. There is nothing funny about food poisoning. I would not wish this on my worst enemy.

On Tuesday morning I was almost alive again. I decided to shower up and snap out of it. I did pretty good and kept my afternoon and evening appointments. I warned everyone that if they noticed me wincing to just ignore me cuz I’m getting over whatever was wrong with me.

By Wednesday morning, I was back in action and operating (pretty much) full throttle. This included being able to shovel a few loads of gravel to fix the hill in the backyard.

Be careful what you wish for! I am very much a believer in the fact that what you think about you bring about. I had recently decided that I wanted to tone up my arm muscles a little and I also needed to find a way to fix my landscaping after the recent floods. This would require a rather large load of gravel to repair and re-grade my hill to support the decorative landscaping and rocks above. My neighbor Tom came over on Tuesday when I was ‘way out of it’ and mentioned to Joe that he had some dirt delivered and wondered if I wanted to use some. I finally wandered over on Wednesday to see that it was actually a load of clay, gravel, sand, rocks, and other junk left over from a road construction project…perfect for hill support! J

Now I have exactly what I was thinking about…a great way to work out my arms and also a free way to fix my hill.  Thought become things. Be careful what you think about.

I now have thoughts of gratitude for the health that I experience daily. I write in my gratitude journal every night and will continue to include something about painless health for awhile after my recent experience. If you haven’t tried a gratitude journal yet, I would highly recommend it.

Back in action and happy about it,

Karin Conway

8-19-2010

Comments
2 Responses to “I Almost Died This Week”
  1. Megan says:

    Whoa, that does not sound fun. I have never had food poisoning that I know of…and hope I never do. Glad you are feeling better.

    • Joe says:

      Don’t I get any credit for asking several times “How do you feel?” then sortof listening and responding with “I wonder if it could be…?”

Leave a Reply

