Re-Post from Boaz; Life Throws a Curve

Clouds breaking up after a rainy morning in th...

Clouds breaking up after a rainy morning in the Blue Ridge Mountains. Photo taken from the Deep Gap overlook on the Blue Ridge Parkway in western North Carolina, with a Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ50. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I just got this in my email box today. If you are at all intrigued, I would encourage you to sign up for a regular dose of Boaz. Life is better with his inspirational thoughts. I am hopeful to have him back in Milwaukee in the fall of 2012. You know I will promote the heck out of it if I can manage to book him for an engagement here. Boaz rocks!

Make it a great day!

🙂 Karin Conway

Connections Coach

Karin@PROAlliances.com

Want more info? Want to sign up for Boaz Power Notes? Check out his website.

http://boazpower.com/

 

Life Throws a Curve… by Boaz;

So, there I was, driving my rental car out of the parking lot at the Ashville, North Carolina airport.

As usual, I entered the address of The Old Edwards Inn in Highlands, North Carolina, into the GPS system in my Hertz car. That was where I was to speak for a CEO retreat the next morning.

When driving any distance from an airport, for a speaking engagement, I always look at the options on the GPS system – do I want to take the shortest distance or choose the most use of highways.

In this case, the shortest distance to Highlands showed 59 miles. The most use of highways was 88 miles. That’s quite a difference. Thus, I chose the shortest distance.

What I should have noted was the GPS reading for the time it would take for either option.

Thus, I headed down the shortest path. How many times in life have we all found that the shortest path toward a goal is not always the most productive?

Highlands sits as the crowning jewel on the Southern plateau of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains in Western North Carolina.

As I began my drive, down the shortest route, I soon realized that the beautiful road I was on involved many curves. Climbing up toward the Eastern Continental Divide, just before Highlands, began to take more time than I had envisioned.

Driving through small towns, with all the stop lights, I began to feel a little agitated because I had possibly made the wrong decision in my choice of routes. The longer route, with the most use of highways, began to look as if it would have been a better choice.

Life had thrown me a whole bunch of curves. And then it dawned on me.

Here I was, driving down one of the most beautiful roads in America, and I was missing the beauty around me. Was I in a rush to get to The Old Edwards Inn in Highlands? No, I wasn’t speaking until the next morning.

Thus, I decided to cool my jets and enjoy the amazing landscape around me. There were breathtaking mountain vistas, mesmerizing waterfalls, and wooded forests. I found myself slowing down and appreciating every curve. Life had thrown me many of them that evening and I almost missed the magic.

If life throws us a curve this week, why don’t we slow down and see if there’s magic around the corner. Sometimes we don’t see the forest for the trees.

You are special. You are unique. You are destined for greatness! Have a powerful day!

A Slow-Down Affirmation

I slow down and appreciate the magic that is around me.
Boaz Power Corp., 642 Baywood Dr., Newport Beach, CA 92660, USA

Comments
One Response to “Re-Post from Boaz; Life Throws a Curve”
  1. karinconway says:

    Reblogged this on My Mindset Matters and commented:

    Boaz rocks!

Leave a Reply

