To Sling or Not to Sling

Laurie rocks! I mentioned her in my gratitude video today. I will be posting it shortly.
๐Ÿ™‚ KMC

Tuesdays with Laurie

Recently after teaching a class at HolEssence,ย my attention was caught on the drive home by four pairs of what appeared to be rather new tennis shoes hanging from telephone lines. Looking at the shoes silhouetted against the sunlit blue sky, the first thing that popped into my head was the song, โ€œWaking on Sunshineโ€ by Katrina and The Waves.

Grabbing my camera to capture the free-spirited moment, the second thought that crossed my mind was โ€œLuke Skywalker,โ€ and the third was, โ€œWalking Tallโ€ (really tall)!

When I got home I checked Snopes to see what the story behind this practice might be. As it turns out, it could mean anything from exuberance at passing a sexual milestone, to gangs marking their territorial boundaries, and everything in-between, including just plain old fun!

I also learned that the Southwest has a similar practice of placingโ€ฆ

View original post 72 more words

Comments
One Response to “To Sling or Not to Sling”
  1. Oh my goodness – Thank you for reblogging my post. How darned cool is that?! Now I’m going to go find your gratitude video ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

